The York Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service was named joint winner of the RAC Fire-fighter of The Year Awards in the volunteer fire and rescue category. It tied for first place with a combined Wundowie-Northam entry.

Minister for Emergency Services, Mr John Kobelke presented the award at an awards breakfast on Sunday October 7, at the Burswood Resort. Many dignitaries including the CEO of FESA, Jo Harrison-Ward, were present. Seventeen people including fire fighters and their partners represented York.

The York Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service was nominated by the wives, partners and families of the brigade after seeing first hand the difficulties members faced over the past 12 months.

They attended many accidents and large fires during the year. As a volunteer group they showed commitment to helping and protecting the York community as well as courage, strength and dedication in the face of adversity.

Mr Kobelke congratulated them and thanked them for their service to York and to FESA.
It was a proud and emotional moment when the award was announced and made all their hard work worthwhile.

Captain Peter Reynolds thanked the RAC, FESA and other sponsors of the award and paid tribute to the members who willingly give up their time and for their help and support for each other.

He also congratulated the other nominees and finalists and said they all deserved recognition for the hard work they put in.  Employees of volunteers and members who run their own businesses were also commended for their support of the service.

York received a trophy, perpetual shield and gift vouchers.

Vicki Reynolds

Caption: Volunteer members of the York FESA brigade with one of their appliances (L-R) Andrew Hicks, Gary McNamara, Graeme Hunt, Mark Jury, Justin Corrigan, Glen Smith, Ron Olsson, Peter Reynolds and Mick Nottle.